Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
04-16-2001 @ midnightish
Weekend Recap

Twice this weekend I got settled in to write an entry and something stopped me. Not sure why. Just didn't really feel much like writing.

Saturday was the Pagan Springtime Ritual which went well until Joey freaked out because she didn't also find an egg with the little bunny eraser in it which led to 30 minutes of crying in her room and searching the house for the blasted egg we missed. But after that she was fine. I wonder if that obsession she had with finding the egg had anything to do with her anxiety disorder?

Easter was nice. Quiet and uneventful. I made bread in the mornning before church and then after church, Grandma came over for dinner and I made some very delicious meatloaf, cheesy-garlic mashed potatoes and brocolli. Not your traditional Easter dinner but it was darn tasty. We had left over carrot cake from the PSR for dessert. Man, that carrot cake is sooo good! I only make it once a year because it is very rich and very delicious and I'd eat the whole pan if left to my own devices.

Today was a decent day at school--2 classes. There was an issue in chemistry, though. I hate it when teachers write questions poorly and then ding you for not reading their minds to understand what they wanted. Arrgh!

Between A&P and chemistry, I met Jaimie at Stacy's house and colored her hair. We had a love chat while her hair processed and then Jaimie and I took Stacy to lunch for the use of her home (it was conveniently located). I really enjoyed that little island of time with my friends in the middle of my school day. That makes Mondays tolerable.

I've been having a hoarse voice for a few days. It seems to be in absence of a sickness, though I'm starting to have a little bit of a sore throat with some gunk in my throat so maybe the hoarseness was a precursor to a sickness. It's weird, though. Ever since I got laryngitis last February, I seem to get a hoarse voice very easily even when I'm not sick. I wonder if I should talk to my doctor about it. Just seems strange--I've had very little problem with hoarseness in the past. Usually nothing hits my vocal cords. It's not just hoarseness, though. My voice just sort of fritzes out--it'll cut out in the middle of a word, for example, and no sound will come out at all. I find that very strange. Perhaps I'll adopt a wait-and-see attitude and see how long it takes for this hoarseness to go away and if I get any other sickness with it.

Oh, here's something lovely. Ed made reservations for us at the Heathman Hotel (a very nice hotel downtown) for this weekend. Saturday is our 14th wedding anniversary. Joey is going to spend the weekend with Stacy et al and we'll have a vacation downtown. We plan to eat at a Moroccan restaurant, see Bridget Jones's Diary, visit some museums, and whatever else suits our fancy. I'm very much looking forward to it.

We had our delicious Brazilian Night at the Griffins on Saturday night. It was soooo good! Everything was fabulous. I made chicken-almond-coconut balls that were very easy and very tasty. I'll be making them again for my Christmas party. Great finger food. And I fried taro root like french fries and that was tasty, too. My favorite was the spicy shrimp and coconut milk stew served over the seasoned rice. Man, that was delish! I just finished off the leftovers and I can still taste it. Yum! And the company was fabulous, too. This is one of those rare situations where all 8 of us are good friends, not just women-women and men-men, though from time to time we do separate and chat about things the other group isn't interested in. It's so great that we all genuinely like each other. I'd feel comfortable chatting with any of the women or men on the telephone, which doesn't always happens, especially with my friends' husbands. So the International Dinner Group is a resounding success. And even though the Brazilian dinner was fab, it still can't top the Moroccan dinner. That will probably always be my favorite! We're doing Germany next.

Well, it's late so I'll sign off now. For some reason I'm feeling very snacky so I might have to go find another little something to eat (not that I need it!) and then I'll head to bed.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...