Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
04-10-2001 @ 10:41 p.m.
Sick as a Dog

I woke up at 4am this morning feeling sick to my stomach. I fell back to sleep and slept fitfully until 7:45 and then laid in bed until 10am while Joey played and drew pictures. She made me the sweetest get well card this morning while I moaned and groaned. My stomach felt queasy and full, like my dinner last night (chili, of all things) was still in there. I kept having chili burps and I was quite certain I didn't want to throw that up.

I dragged my sorry body out of bed and got ready to go to school because I didn't want to miss my chemistry lab and my A&P lab. I struggled and suffered through chem lab (got it done as quickly as possible) and then crawled in my car with a blanket from the trunk and slept for an hour until A&P lab. Then I dragged myself to that lab and sat there feeling nauseated until I felt I'd gotten enough information from the slides we needed to look at. I left a half hour early and went to my friend Stacey's house, where Joey was. I felt awful. I had chills and fever. I was wearing a turtle neck, a fleece and a thick quilted flannel jacket. Still wearing my coat and hood (and ball cap), I laid down on her couch with 2 blankets and shivered until the fever kicked in (almost 101 degrees) and then I fell asleep. I slept there for about an hour.

I felt so dizzy and so weak (probably from the roughly 400 calories I'd eaten that day in addition to the fever) that I just laid there for awhile. She made me some mashed potatoes when she made her family's dinner. Joey ate dinner with them and I choked down a small scoop of potatoes.

I spent the next 90 minutes trying to just screw up some energy so I could drive the 15 miles home. I was dizzy and a little worried about the drive but I did ok. I even stopped at Starbuck's for some hot chocolate. I was feeling *so* hungry and weak and shaky from low blood sugar.

I got home and no sooner did I walk in the door than the, uh, runs kicked in. My entire digestive system seems to have liquefied. I'm tolerating the hot chocolate ok. I arranged for someone to take Joey to school tomorrow and I'm going to stay in bed unless I feel remarkably better. I've called or emailed all my professors so I'm feeling like I have all my bases covered. I just hope this passes quickly. Of course, Ed is on a business trip. The last time I got food poisoning like this (only it was worse last time), Ed was in Dallas. What kind of luck do I have?

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...