Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
03-31-2001 @ late night
A Responsible Adult

Today I slept in until after noon. Of course, I didn't go to bed until 3:30. Tsk tsk. It's now 1am/2am (depending on whether you set your clocks ahead early or late) and I'm still up. I need to go to bed soon, though, so I can get up at a decent hour. I'm planning to start being a responsible grown up when school starts on Monday. I'm going to get up when Ed gets up, have some family time before getting ready for school--perhaps even eat breakfast sitting down!--walk on the treadmill, and get to class ontime. I've had this 9am class since September and I've been ontime about 5 times. How pathetic is that? If figure I've missed about 10% of class time by being late. So I'm going to stop doing that. I'm going to be a real grown up.

Speaking of being a real grown up, I have a bazillion appointments to take care of: Joey's orthodontist consultation, Joey's therapist consultation for her anxiety, time to see the doc for my yearly (fun!), need to have my eyes checked (and probably Joey's, too), and I'm sure there's more. Oh, and I need to make an appointment with Krista's naturopath to talk about my thyroid problems and depression. I made a list of appointments that I need to take care of.

That's a lot of responsibility for one week. Perhaps I should spread it out over a few weeks.

We saw Spy Kids today with our travelling companions. It was pretty decent, for a kid flick. Antonio is so hot. I love those Latino men. Ricardo Montalban in about 1950 was about as hot as they get.

Slow day for me. My back hurt today so my plans to do laundry all day sorta fizzled. I did 2 loads, halfway. And I didn't fold the clothes that were already done. Oh well--I can do them tomorrow while I'm watching conference.

My house is a freaking disaster! I hate having a messy house, but I also seem to be lacking the energy/motivation to do much about it. I just want to stay on vacation. I like vacation. Vacation is nice. It's lazy. I do lazy well.

I think I shall make bread tomorrow. I need a dough fix. Plus I need to make a loaf for Jamie.

Ooh, bookgroup is on Tuesday. We're discussing THE VIRGIN SUICIDES by Jeffrey Eugenides. *Great* book. I can't wait to discuss it. I can't remember the book we're doing next. I should have been reading it on vacation. Oh well.

I wish I could fit a photography class into my schedule. I see Stacy doing her stuff and I really want to do that, too. I think I have a good eye and a good sense of composition. I want to learn how to make the best use of that skill. I guess I can look forward to that if I'm not in school next year.

I guess it's time to go to bed. I'm sorry this is so boring today. Some days are just like that.

I'm going to make some time for working on An Early Snow, too. Spring always gets my creative juices flowing. I will probably make some big changes to the plot line and then just finish it. I want to move on to Avery's Story (don't have a working title for it yet) and I can't do that until I've put closure on Snow. It doesn't have to be great. It just have to be done. Then I can move on. I think I need a writing partner again. I liked having a group of people to share writing and critiques with. It kept me moving forward becuase I had deadlines and people to report to. Even when I was just doing Artist's Way and had weekly check ins with my group, it helped because I had to keep writing. I didn't want to appear slovenly and confess my sloth to my group, so I wrote. Even if all I do is a paragraph a day, I think it's important to write daily. I'll have to figure out how to incorporate that into being a Responsible Adult. I hope I have time for homework as a Responsible Adult.

Later...

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...