Latest Entry


The Archives


Email Me


More about myself


Diaryland

Funny the World


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Come get reviewed too!
03-30-2001 @ late night
Home again Home again, Jiggety Jig

Well, we're home. I was *not* ready to leave Hawaii. Not not not not not not notnotnotnotnot. Nonetheless, we're home.

We almost didn't make it home because Markus was being a butthead about where to return the car (off property, NOT at the airport) using a really condescending voice "Unless this airport is unlike every other airport in the country, there will be little signs saying 'rental return' and I'll follow those." So I'm thinking, "Ok, idiot, you do that. And then I get to gloat when I'm right and you're freaking wrong." Which is, of course, exactly what happened. It took an additional 45 minutes to find the damn place and we almost missed our plane because of all the long lines for the agricultural check and the check in blah blah blah. They checked in at the gate because they didn't check luggage. We walked on because the nice people moved us ahead. Some strangers sat down in their seats and I imagined Stacey screaming at Markus in the terminal for missing the flight. But no, they lost their seats and ended up with seats in first class instead. I was pissed. But there was some justice--I slept 2+ hours on the flight and they didn't. They said the seats weren't comfortable at all. And they didn't eat the food either because it was the middle of the night. I'm a bad bad bad person for being happy about that. They're our best friends, after all. Still, an evil little part of me was glad.

I slept a lot today and had Dr. Pepper with dinner (which the Griffins very kindly prepared for us) so now that, combined with jet lag, has me up at 2:20 am.

I enjoyed getting caught up on different diaries. It's nice to know others out there are having some of the same thoughts and feelings and frustrations as me. It means that I'm not a freak. (Or that we're all freaks together.

=--=

It's hard to explain to non-online-diarists why on earth I would want to have an online diary. To be truthful, I don't know why either. I kind of like the idea that someone is reading this (thanks herworship!) but that it's anonymous. I haven't given the website to anyone I know in 3-D yet. Don't know if I ever will. I hope someone else reads my journal someday. Then again, it doesn't really matter. I'm not writing for an audience. I'm writing for me because I need to keep a journal. I need to put this stuff (inane as it is) down somewhere so I can get it off my head.

+--+

I got a B. My first since going back to school. In Statistics. I'm deeply saddened. I think I'll have to go check on my final and find out how the hell that happened because I walked out of that class certain that I'd gotten an A. Gladly, however, I got As in Anatomy/Physiology and Chemistry. Yay. Still, that B stings. Now my spotless 4.0 is a measly 3.92. I like perfection. I like streaks. I like my old GPA.

+--+

I am the queen of trivia. Ed keeps urging me to go on Who Wants to Be a Millionaire and put that trivia brain to work but I think I'd suck on that because I can't do the fastest finger thing. Oh well. We'll see.

I'm on the alternate list at one of the nursing schools I applied to. Seems I'm not doing well in applying to that school. I assumed the bachelor program would be a no-brainer. What the hell is their problem? Can't they see what they're missing in me?????

+--+

I'd better try to get myself to sleep soon. I'm going to be rousted out of bed before I'm ready and then I'll be cranky and tired all day. And what a rousing day it will be--laundry central.

We went to the Griffins tonight for dinner and Nertz. It was great fun but aside from them, I'm feeling really anti-social. I should go to see Jamie and get my key back and thank her profusely for tending to the kitty (and give her a nonexistent gift from the islands--ulp!) while we were gone and I need to see the other Jaimie and give her the refrigerator magnets I got for her in Hawaii. And I should call Amy and Cherri and let them know I'm home safe and that I have goodies for them. And I should call Grandma and see how she is. But I'm not in the mood. I just want to retreat into my coccoon for awhile. School starts on Monday and I'll get into the groove of being around people who I know and who I want to talk to/socialize with, but for now, I just want to be alone. What's that say about me?

+--+

I'm really in a shopping/spending money mode right now and we need to conserve our cash because of the Intel half-raise thing and because we won't be exercising our stock options this summer and because we're going to go on another vacation in July for Ed's sabbatical. Still, I want to buy more summer clothes. Remember that it's just barely spring here and that means 50s and 60s and rain. Not exactly summer clothes weather.

+--+

I'm watching the Ricky Martin "She Bangs" video. I'm almost embarrassed to say it, but I just think he is so sexy. He just slays me with his high cheekbones and square jaw and sexy bod. Those hips--oh lordy. His latest CD isn't much to write home about but Vuelve is excellent. I wish he'd do more quality stuff like that--and in Spanish. He's going away from what made him famous--the latin sound. For that I think he's an idiot. But he's cute and he's sexy and I melt when I see him. That concert last summer was such a great time. I wonder what concert Stacey, Russell and I will see this year?

+--+

My tailbone is still tender. I don't know why it is bothering me. Perhaps I'm spending too much time on my ass with this computer?? Ya think? I need to wean myself off of it. Well not entirely, but cut back.

+--+

In Honolulu, I caught an episode of The Sopranos. I hated it. Of course, I'm not into gangster movies, but I hated that show. It was awful. I seriously worry about people who love it.

+--+

I think I'll bake some bread tomorrow. It's been awhile. Ooh, and I'll cook a corned beef. Yum--sandwiches. Ooh, that gives me another idea--I can make a loaf for Jamie for watching the kitty. Yes--that's the ticket! So smart! I guess I'd better get a webvan order in the works--we're out of most food products (except canned goods and frozen food).

Ok, I'm really going to go to bed. I just hope I can readjust to our queen bed after the king we had in Hawaii.

Wish me luck.

Later....

--L

�� PreviousNext ��

Designed by...